Stupid ubuntu issue, not allowed to mount an external drive

Yesterday evening I upgraded some stuff like the new kernel ( 2.6.32-24-generic ) and some other libs available. Today I found I was not able to mount anything as a common user. I checked to see if it was possible as root, it was. Whatever I did, I was not able to fix this within the gnome shell. Users-admin showed I should be able to mount. This tool should be run as root to be allowed altering the settings.

I started googling for it and had a very funny 30 minutes. People suggest all kinds of idiot solutions like ” reinstall and do not upgrade anymore, make your self admin, etc…. “. There was only one person triggering me to check if the ntfs-config tool was installed. It seemed to be missing.

Now I did wonder why I was able to mount before the kernel upgrade (stupid idea, I can mount as root). The only conclusion is that something has been changed in the new kernel libs that does need the ntfs-config tool (weird name b.t.w, you will need it to mount dvd media, ext3/4, etc..).

The website on Ubuntu shows it can be used to mount external media. Usb media is mostly formatted using vfat afaik, that might explain why it is called ntfs-config (a ms windows filesystem).

Weird…..

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Stupid ubuntu issue, not allowed to mount an external drive

  1. Hans August 28, 2010 at 11:27 am Reply

    Hi,

    Indeed, not likely to be a kernel problem since I was able to mount the external drive as root. Neither fstab should be a problem I think that for some reason ntfs-config is needed.

    Best regards,

    Hans

  2. technologyunit August 28, 2010 at 2:10 am Reply

    Hi Techunit from the Ubuntu Video Tutorials blog here on wordpress. The problem is not likely to be associated with the kernel, but more along the lines of the Fstab. You can test the kernel by rebooting and hold shift after the bios messages have appeared. Then choose the older kernel. If It works use synaptic package manager to uninstall the problem kernel. I hope this helps. If you have problems it is a good Idea to post the problem on the Ubuntu Forum.

    Sincerely
    Techunit

Leave a Reply

